Skip to content

pay no attention to the man behind the curtain

January 2, 2011

I have this feeling of accomplishment – the kind that comes from actually DOING something I’ve meant to do for a long time.

Something that has been on my list, and moved to the next list, and written in my journal, and moved to the next journal, and taped to my monitor on a post-it.

Accomplishment feels like a bouquet of red balloons, or the bubbles in champagne, or tying your shoes by yourself for the very first time.

The only downside to this particular task completed is that hardly anyone will know or see the difference.

But I will.

And it’s huge.

While I have owned the scatterbeams domain name for a long time, I have been using this wordpress hosted blog for the site.

Over the last couple of weeks I

  • transferred ownership of Kristina’s domain names
  • arranged hosting for multiple sites – hers and mine – and some spares
  • learned how to set up and use an FTP client
  • researched and installed a new theme for my site (multiple tries there)
  • modified the CSS of the new theme to suit me
  • installed plugins and researched others to add features I couldn’t have on the old site

See what I mean?  Most of those things are in the background – behind the curtain, as it were.  But I learned a ton of new skills and put them to immediate use.

Ed had a knack for coming by and asking how I was doing when I was about ready to howl in frustration.  I know I was not easy to help.  He helped anyway.

Even so, most of it I figured out for myself.

*snoopy dance*

Scatterbeams has a clean new design and I am excited for what is to come.

Now I am working on a photo gallery that will be part of the site – we’ll see how that goes.  (It is still possible that I will become an active flickr user, but I am trying to avoid that.)

I expect this to be the last new post here.  Please visit me at scatterbeams.com for more stories and photos celebrating life.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bratty Sister Nurse permalink
    January 7, 2011 12:07 pm

    you are so awesome sister bear.
    i respect and admire your commitment to excellence, learning, and love.
    xo
    elizabeth

  2. January 18, 2011 8:27 am

    Thank you, dear one. I’m really happy to have accomplished these things, and I really like how things look over at the scatterbeams site.

Leave a Reply

