Skip to content

love and belonging

November 9, 2010

When I first went to the farm to meet Ed’s parents, I was terrified.  I knew the importance of family, and wanted so much to be a part of his.

My family is loud and brazen and I knew things would be… uh, quieter, at Ed’s family home.  I wondered if I would fit, if I would belong.

I feared I would disappoint them.

I needn’t have worried.  Phyllis and Tom have welcomed me with open arms since that first day. They see how happy their son is with me, how happy we are together.

Their definition of family is open and inclusive.  They are my family now, too, and my daughter’s. My affection and gratitude for them continues to grow.

Today, I finally sat down with a cup of tea and listened to Brené Brown‘s talk from TEDx Houston.

One of the points that most resonates for me is this:

People who have a strong sense of love and belonging believe they are worthy of love and belonging.

What a blessing to feel this with Ed’s family.

I hope you will listen to this talk.

Yes, it is 20 minutes long (or short – I found myself wishing I could listen to Brené for much longer when the talk ended).

I encourage you to give yourself this 20 minutes.  It will be a gift.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. catherine permalink
    November 10, 2010 12:39 pm

    WHO YOU CALLING BRAZEN!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

  2. Jet permalink*
    November 10, 2010 9:17 pm

    If the shoe fits, baby.

  3. November 15, 2010 2:11 pm

    What a great capture of the moment. I almost finished reading Brene’s book. I’m trying to savor each little bit. Thanks for reminding me about her talks — it will be something to look forward once the book is done. I’m enjoying reading your blog and looking at your pictures. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Jet permalink*
    November 15, 2010 6:02 pm

    SJ – The Gift of Imperfection is on its way to me – I am excited to get started on it. I know just what you mean about savouring a book, trying to make it last.

    Also, I’m delighted to share visits with you – your photos inspire me.
    Sarah Jean’s blog is here.

Leave a Reply

