Skip to content

taking the chill off

November 2, 2010

The morning temperature in the kitchen jumps when I light candles.  So does my delight.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 5:03 pm

    So lovely!

    I’ll never forget when friends from Denmark came to visit. They lit candles for breakfast in the winter. “We need the light where we live,” they told me. Seattle too, I think.

    As soon as I get fully unpacked, I’m putting candles on the table.

  2. November 2, 2010 5:45 pm

    Beautiful picture – gorgeous! Also, love the new banner!

  3. Jet permalink*
    November 2, 2010 7:44 pm

    Thank you, Tea! I highly recommend the candles – they make all the difference for me. This is the first year in many that I am not getting up at 6 am for the school year – they helped even more then.

    My sister is at the front end of her second year living in Sweden, doing research at a university. She lives north of the Arctic circle, and reports that it is already “hella dark” there. She has lots of candles, too.

    I hope you enjoy settling into and creating your new home.

  4. Jet permalink*
    November 2, 2010 7:45 pm

    Sarah Jean – thank you! I have a lot of fun with the banners. Some pictures are better as a slice for the banner than they are as they were fully composed. I think this is one of those.

  5. Dr. Kim permalink
    November 3, 2010 2:21 pm

    Ah Candles!! Perhaps my favorite thing about short days and long nights.

  6. Jet permalink*
    November 4, 2010 10:51 am

    Yes, Kim – the candles make it something to enjoy and celebrate (and keep me from grumping).

Leave a Reply

