Skip to content

baby, you can drive my car

March 28, 2009

(About a week ago.)

“Remember when going 25 freaked me out?”

“Yes,” I answer, recalling Kristina’s first miles behind the wheel, her body rigid with concentration. Her voice snaps me back to the present.

“Now it just pisses me off.”

Oh.

***

(Two days ago.)

On our way home from Kristina’s school, we pass someone going well over the speed limit in a 25 mph residential neighbourhood.

I interrupt what I am saying to look at the other car and call out, “Too fast!”  (Yes, I know – the windows are closed and they cannot hear me – how impotent am I?)

Miss K also looks over, adds in a small voice, “jerk.”

***

I remind Kristina of her earlier statement. She backpedals. “I was just noticing how much more comfortable I am.  I don’t speed, Mama.  Ever.”

And then we carry on with our conversation.

 

I find these moments terribly amusing.

 

listening to: Trace Adkins, Chrome

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

